Dhekelia Power Station
Next ]


Cyprus - Dhekelia Power Station (under construction)

Dhekelia Power Station is one of three power plants belonging to the Electricity Authority of Cyprus. It is located approximately 15 km east of the city of Larnaca and it has a capacity of 460 MW. Following the 11 July 2011 Evangelos Florakis Naval Base explosion, approximately 60MW of rented mobile generators were by December 2011 installed at this station.

The original plant was the first of the company which started building it in the mid-1950s. Completed, it consisted of seven steam turbogenerators with a total capacity of 84 MW. As the machinery grew old and demand rose steadily, a new plant was built next to the old.

Built in five phases, the current power plant consists of six steam turbines, each of a capacity of 60 MW and six diesel engines of approximately 17 MW each. All boilers burn heavy fuel oil and were built by Waagner Biró. The first two turbines and generators were supplied by Siemens and came online in 1982 and 1983. Turbines 3 and 4 were made by Toshiba and the corresponding generators by Alsthom and came online in 1986. The steam plant was completed with the supply of turbogenerators 5 and 6 from Bharat Heavy Electricals in 1992 and 1993. The six diesel engines run on either heavy fuel oil or diesel oil with the first three being two-stroke MAN ones erected by Mitsui in 2009 and the other three being four-stroke ones manufactured by Wärtsilä in 2010.

The original plant was demolished in the early 2000s.

The Dhekelia Power Station enclave is completely surrounded by UK's ESBA territory. The 16,1 ha territory is about 780 m west-east and about 440 m north-south. North of the this exclave is another Cypriot exclave, the EAC Refugee Settlement, only separated by a UK 45-50 metres wide road corridor. The closest point between the two exclaves are 21 metres (near the mast).

The Dhekelia Power Station enclave/exclave is the southern Cypriot enclave inside the UK's Sovereign Base Area (SBA). In this picture it should be possible to observere position "P-3" (Geosite number only), but we did not find it.

The Power Station belongs to the Electricity Authority of Cyprus. Nielsen's report pictures marker "P-5" about 10 metres west of this sign. 3)

The north western border marker is situated close to the fence to the Dhekelia Garrison. Position "P-1" is visible next to the fence in the left part of the picture.  Also an EAC Settlement bordermarker is visible in the right part, at the street.

The marker "P-1" seems to tell the survey was made by the Department of Lands and Surveys of Cyprus. No readable border marker number was observed. 1)

Marker "P-1" from north towards south.

Position "P-0" at the sea, no demarcation. (Fallen fence.)

Position "P-2" observed from the road.

"P-2" observed from northeast towards southwest.  No readable border marker number was observed. In the background is Saint Nicholas.

"P-2" from southwest towards northeast.

"P-2" towards east.

Top plate was of Cypriot type.

Power plant from the road, pictured between "P-4" and "P-5". but none of these markers are visible on this photo.

Marker "P-7" from northeast towards southwest.

"P-7" from east towards west. On the other side of the road, in about 23 m distance, we can barely see "P-6" where the boundary also changes direction slightly in a more southeastern direction. No readable border marker number was observed.

Marker "P-8" in direction towards "P-7".

"P-8" was the south eastern border marker found at this enclave. The distance to the sea was about 10 metres. From this one may lead that artificial dry land between the power station and the sea is located on the SBA [sea] territory.

"P-8" seemed to be numbered no. 29, but it was difficult to read. The marker was of a concrete type.

From "P-8" towards the sea. We did not observere any demarcation between "P-8" and the sea, maybe due to that this is the natural shoreline.

From the southeastern corner of the enclave towards southwest.

This map shows that the territorial sea water outside the Eastern SBA belongs to United Kingdom 2)

Sources and links

  1. The Department of Lands and Surveys of Cyprus

  2. Google Earth map overlay from Territorial Sea Boundaries, Cyprus-United Kingdom (Sovereign Base Areas), Boundary Report 8-1, © American Society of International Law, 1991.

  3. Jesper Nielsen's Boundaries of Cyprus – Enclave photo gallery (2003): http://www.nicolette.dk/cyprus/enclave-gal.php

The page was first time published on 06/01/12. This page was last time updated 07/02/12 .